Vape is crackling and smoking while on charge...

Status
Not open for further replies.

msc382

Aug 14, 2019
Hi!

I’m new to vaping and recently purchased a Kangertech subox mini. It has been great so far, but today I put it onto charge via portable charger and within 5 minutes it was making a cracking sound and releasing vapour, similar to how it would if I were holding the button in. I immediately removed it from charge and am honestly terrified to put it back on in case it explodes. I have attempted to find what could be the cause of this on google with no luck.

Does it sound like I’ve overcharged it in the past and maybe fried the battery? How do I fix it?

Thank you

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I seriously would NOT use that battery device again. Don't plug it in again. It sounds like the electronics have been corrupted for whatever reason and the device should be considered toast. Unless the device is still under warranty, consider it a loss and get a new mod. It can't be fixed.

What could happen if you plug your battery device back in:

I believe that model uses an 18650 battery. Should you choose to get another mod which uses external removable 18650 batteries, I highly recommend that you buy and use a Li-ion battery charger to charge your batteries instead of using the internal USB charger in the mod. It's safer and faster to use a separate charger, and you can easily monitor the battery's temperature while its charging. Always charge your batteries on a flame resistant surface and don't charge batteries unattended. Guide to Choosing a Li-ion Battery Charger

This is a perfect example of why we need a backup vape setup. Don't give yourself the excuse to buy cigarettes because your only vape setup stopped working.

Last edited:

Georgia Boy

ECF Veteran
Jun 28, 2019
Atlanta Georgia