Why do my coils/wicks pop & crackle like crazy? (mini explosions)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Exile

ECF Veteran
Feb 5, 2013
Dallas,Tx
I am fairly new to rebuildable atomizers, and am hoping some of the more experienced vapers on here can tell me what im doing wrong?

I got my first Phoenix V3 rba 3-4 days ago. (IGO-L on order)

I vaped on the Phoenix V3 with the stock coil/wick it came with for a few days with good results.

So yesterday I tried rebuilding my first coil/wick for it. But no matter what I do or try the thing pops & crackles like crazy! Like mini juice explosions going on in my drip tip & mouth? And the throat hit is sooo harsh I cant vape it? I tried building 4-5 different coils/wicks different ways with the same results?

I used 28g kanthal with 2.5mm silica wick wrapping the coils around a 1/16 drill bit then sliding the wick through the coil...

3/4 wrap (regular coil)
5/6 wrap (regular coil)
8/9 wrap (micro coil)
10/12 wrap (micro coil)

There is lots of flavor & vapor, but no matter what I do I cant get the excessive popping & cracking to stop? And the harsh throat hit I just cant handle...

I dont have a ohm checker so I am just taking a chance with them. (Vamo on order) I am using it on a 900mah Ego Twist between 3.4v-3.8v.

I am making sure the air flow hole is right in front of the coil, and there is no excessive juice. (flooding) Just the wick is saturated.

I dont have any pics of the coils/wicks right now, but I can post some later today. But they all looked really good/straight. (imo)

Any feedback on what im doing wrong is appreciated...

Last edited:

MJMcMahon

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 11, 2013
Boise, ID, USA
Exile -

hard to say exactly what's happening without knowing the resistance of the coil and I'm hardly an expert but I'll try to help :)