Why is vaping industry flying below average smoker's radar?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tckenno

ECF Veteran
Dec 29, 2015
N. Michigan
I am really new to vaping but can tell already it's going to be a new habit/hobby. In a nutshell, I bought a couple disposable e-cigs last summer for those times and places I couldn't smoke. They were ok but not impressive. After Thanksgiving got Greensmoke starter kit and was impressed. Cost was major negative with those. My Apollo Endeavor starter kit arrived day after Christmas and after three days I can see lots to like. Yesterday for instance, I had a cigarette with my morning coffee. After that, vaped rest of day while the lone cigarette .... sat there all alone in the ashtray. Kinda felt sorry for it being all alone in a weird kinda way. Regardless, getting knowledgeable on vaping will be a challenge which is why I joined this forum. Wish I had discovered it years ago. So many positives and so few negatives. What's not to like? IMO, should be promoted to smokers way more than it is...

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
Most vapor suppliers are small business owners who can not afford big budget advertising. Only Big Tobacco (Blu, Vantage, etc) can afford television, radio, and magazine advertising. The vaping industry, to this point, has depended upon word of mouth and Google.

Since you are "really new to vaping", take a look at my blogs: Baditude's Blogs

djsvapour

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Oct 2, 2012
England and Wales
Welcome @tckenno

The industry isn't really flying under people's radar... 95% of UK smokers know what e-cigs are and 2.6 million people use them.

Unfortunately, 1.4 million (of the 2.6 million) people still smoke.
Many still smoke because what they are exposed to is junk e-cigs..... made by companies that are either 1) tobacco companies or 2) rip-off junk brands.