Wraps and resistance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TarekElsakka

ECF Veteran
Oct 26, 2016
Hi there

I have been reading up about the Law of Ohms and it seems kind of complicated for me as I am a Political Science graduate and I've always avoided math and anything to do with numbers. :D

All I want to know is how many wires it would take, the diameter, leg length, etc. in order to reach the target resistance. I found some nice tools online but in most of them I can only choose "Kanthal", for example, rather than claptons or fused claptons.

The wire I have right now is a Fused Clapton 24GA + 32GA and I like wrapping on a 3mm diameter but it wasn't good in my OBS Engine as a dual coil setup because it read 0.20 and took a lot of time to heat up even on high wattage values and when it did, it really overheated my tank and I just didn't like that.

I recently built a single coil from it for my Ammit, 6 wraps on 2.5mm diameter and it is reading at 0.41ohms which is perfect for me ince I prefer lower wattages (30W to 45W), and I'd like to know the number of wraps and diameter I should use for my OBS Engine for a target of 0.45ohms, for instance.

I have an Android app called vape Tool and if I have used it correctly, it says that I should do 7 wraps on 2.5mm for a resistance of 0.463. I don't know how to measure the coil spacing and legs length, though, so I just do it randomly.

Thanks guys!

Eskie

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 6, 2016
NY
Hi there

I have been reading up about the Law of Ohms and it seems kind of complicated for me as I am a Political Science graduate and I've always avoided math and anything to do with numbers. :D

All I want to know is how many wires it would take, the diameter, leg length, etc. in order to reach the target resistance. I found some nice tools online but in most of them I can only choose "Kanthal", for example, rather than claptons or fused claptons.