Hello Vapers! Natural vs Synthetic Flavours: Which are Preferred?

Status
Not open for further replies.

curiouschemist82

Jan 1, 2016
Ireland
Hello everyone!

Just wanted to introduce myself and pose a question to anyone who might be interested...

I am a chemist. I am very interested in the science behind vaping (in particular - the flavouring of e-liquids). I am trying to consider the health impact of "all natural" e-juices versus those flavoured with synthetic chemicals. What is the consensus view?

Note I am not talking about VG/PG ratios, nicotine or anything other than the flavour components.

Some things to consider;

- Synthetic flavour chemicals are obviously man-made and toxicologically tested to some extent, which gives us some peace of mind, however...

- The toxicological testing of the above is not likely to be rigorous enough for accurate evaluation of health effects arising from long-term (chronic) exposure by inhalation.

- Natural flavours (from natural products) have been used by humans for millenia, however these essences are chemically complex, not fully characterised and certainly are not normally consumed by inhalation (meaning these vapours are now going straight into the bloodstream).

- There are many subtleties to this question, which might come out in the discussion. I am going to leave it here for now to see how this post is received.

So in summary, which is preferrable to the vaping community; man-made chemical flavours or natural flavours? I would be particularly interested in cases where people have personally became unwell from consuming either natural OR synthetic e-liquids.

Happy vaping people! :)

suprtrkr

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2014
Cowtown, USA. Where the West begins.