Type 2 Diabetes and Vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melvins

Sep 13, 2013
Mpls, MN, USA
Hey! Another Noob here.
I've seen this conversation on other threads here but couldn't post because I'm a Noob, so I'll start my own thread.
Because I'm Diabetic (type 2) everything that goes into my body is of concern.
I'm not sure how things are metabolized through the lungs so I'll assume that anything ingested has an impact.
The big question is sugars. They're a killer for me and I'm concerned about the sweeteners I add to the e-juice that I make.
I saw this on the internet ( 1.36oz EZ-Sweetz® Stevia & Monk Fruit (1 unit) ) and it looked suitable/stable because they state that it's stable at high temps.
Anyone use this stuff in their e-juice and do you know if it's safe to use in e-juice?
I want to try something other than EM (Ethyl Maltol) sweetener as I've heard it can bump up my Blood Sugars and I'm not big on the other artificial sweeteners.
Thanks for any and all info.

Katya

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2010
SoCal
Hi Melvins and welcome to ECF. I know very little about diabetes and vaping, but I've seen many threads and posts on the subject. Here's one of them:

http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/fo...ce-general-relates-diabetics.html#post9612827

WRT Stevia, Kurt, our resident chemist, advises against its use in vaping:

http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/forum/diy-e-liquid/378527-sucralose-safe.html#post8568470

Many DIY folks use liquid sucralose.

When you get your 5 posts, you'll be able to open my links and do a forum search or you may repost your question in our General or Health forum. I know that several ECF members are diabetic and quite knowledgeable on the subject.

General E-Smoking Discussion

Health, Safety and E-Smoking

Good luck!

Last edited: