Advice Please! DIY Flavor Extraction - Glycerite Method

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian_Miller

Unregistered Supplier
Mar 25, 2016
Atlanta, GA
www.mcpeliquids.com
I'm new to DIY e-liquid - have had simple success using premade flavorings and all of that, but wanted to get into making my own flavors, naturally, from real ingredients. I started off simply:

12 Mason Jars
1 Gallon USP Food Grade VG
Lemons
Cucumbers
Coffee
Chai Tea (loose leaf)
Hibiscus Lemongrass Tea (loose leaf)

Having done a bit of research, I found that pure VG can be used to extract flavors from raw plant material, so I tried this (as I have no desire to use alcohol in this process whatsoever). For the lemons and cucumber I peeled off enough rind to nearly fill 6 mason jars (2 cucumber, 4 lemon) and for the other ingredients I just nearly filled 2 mason jars, and then poured VG into all of them, filling them almost to the top. The jars have been sitting in a closet, no sunlight, a little below room temperature, and have been agitated almost daily for over a month.

Here is the problem.

Today I decided to do a taste test and see how the extractions were coming along. When the jar of lemon rinds and VG was opened, it smelled fantastic, but when I dripped a bit of the now-yellow VG onto my H-Atty and vaped it, it tasted awful. Like old, rotting plant matter.

The hibiscus lemongrass tasted the same way. As did the chai tea, though I could actually tast the chai a bit.

I don't know why this is - The liquid in the mason jars smells wonderful! Do I need to restart this whole process replacing the VG with PG? Do I need to ad PG such that the flavor will be carried into the vapor?

I really hope I don't have to start from scratch. Please let me know if anyone has any experience with this process or any suggestions.

Bootiewootsy

ECF Veteran
Dec 14, 2014
Port Orange, Florida, USA