New to vaping, taste is gone?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,

I am new to vaping. Got my first setup 2 weeks ago, just a basic little Vapoligy Riva kit that came with an Atomizer and a Stardust V3.1 tank. I must say that when I first got it I loved it. The taste was great, the lack of cig smoke smell was great, and IMHO the price was better.
It seems though that the past week my juices have very little to no taste and have a bad after taste. Too me it just tastes like some weird smoke and I get a nasty after taste of burnt something. I stuck the atomizer on to see if I got different results and the taste is just as bad if not worse. I tried my buddies E-cig which is pretty much what I have and his tastes great! I tried some of his liquid in mine thinking maybe it is just my brand of liquid. Nope still tastes bad in mine. I thought that maybe my heating coil was bad or needed some kind of special cleaning so I have had a few guys in the house here try it. They all thought that it tasted wonderfull.

What could be causing my taste buds to go crazy and why is it only with my e-cig when I use it but no one else? I cant really describe the taste that I experience but it is not as nice and sweet as it was at first.

Abe_Katz

ECF Veteran
Feb 6, 2013
FL, USA
Hi Flyfisher and welcome to ECF.

Well off the top of my head I can see three potental issues you are running into.

1. Vaper's Tongue. This is where while your taste buds heal from smoking they go on vacation a bit.

2. Your Stardust V3 wick-coil assembly may be clogged (can happen with darker and thicker juices), or you may be having a wicking problem. I have clearomizers like that--I happen to like them but they aren't for everyone--I find that if it is a wicking issue swirling your juice around to make sure it hits the wicks close to the holes the wicks come out of helps a lot.