• This forum has been archived

If you'd like to post a thread, post it here instead!

View Forum

Where is the Army?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rat2chat2

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 16, 2013
North Carolina
av8tor
And to all those currently serving God Bless and Thank You for your service to our Great Nation.

cj2bl_JHzvbdjkdGOhGewE3-TFXoUB6bnuZhrtwvCB9vmsmV5ptGxwEeONGzPQryslBnK-lgQ3eecC7gKGK5y2PG2fxY20TYDCoC=w1335-h526
to you also.

Fuzzy Bruce

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 21, 2014
Fort Liquordale, Fl.
I do not hang out here in this forum but I am an old soldier. Got out in '83 after 12 years of being a grunt with a shovel and a bag of C-4 AKA Combat Engineer with a secondary MOS as a Construction Surveyor.

Humm, with a name like av8tor, my guess you might be a skid jockey.The Army has more aircraft than the Air Force if you call a helicopter an aircraft.

Fuzzy Bruce

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 21, 2014
Fort Liquordale, Fl.
Not so fond of choppers, myself. Had a skid splitting hard landing from rotor failure. Fortunately, the pilot was great at autorotation or whatever it is called. Afraid to look down, I looked up to see the rotors bent upwards at what must have been 45 degrees.

We all walked away as the pilot said all landings are just controlled crashes. Not so funny then but I get a chuckle out of it forty+ years later.

Reactions: oldbikeguy

JerryRM

Resting In Peace
ECF Veteran
Nov 10, 2009
Rhode Island
I never went up in a chopper. Our unit captain took some of the guys up for a ride, but when it came my turn, I said "no thanks".

The pilot candidates were trained on how to deal with rotor failure. It was called a "dead stick landing". The idea was to come down at a slight angle, so the back of the skids hit the ground first, otherwise the copter might flip on it's nose. That maneuver was practiced a lot and a lot of Hueys ended up in the maintenance hangar for repairs.