Which Coil Material Dry-Fires Cleanest?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brewdawg1181

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 30, 2017
Metro ATL
I'm pretty new at rebuilding, and started with 28ga 316ss. I usually wrap 2.5mm in a kayfun mini V3. I tried rewicking after dry-firing a couple of times, and it just didn't seem to taste as fresh as a new coil. Visually, the coil wasn't as clean as new, either- even after brushing. And cleaning the inner part of the coil is all but impossible without messing it up. So I've just been replacing the coil on each re-wick.

I recently tried a piece of 24ga kanthal, and it seems to be staying cleaner looking longer. The guage is too heavy for me- requires much higher wattage, and temp ramps up slower, even though it's still about .85 ohm, same as the ss. So I might try 26 guage.

But I'm wondering if someone that's got a lot of experience with various coil materials can tell me which one stays cleanest, and is best if you want to dry-fire, rather than replace? fyi, my mod does do TC, but I wasn't real happy with the way it performed. I've been vaping the 28 ga ss .85 ohm at around 9-11W.

BIG TOZZ

Sep 13, 2017
SS 316 L i swear by it and only buy surgical grade made in the USA. About $5 for 250 feet of 30 awg You can dry fire stainless all day.

Also maybe you need to adjust the wattage range for what is allowed in TC mode? Might be too low for you. On my RX200 i remember when I got it i was liek "what the hell" and found it was limited to 12W or something. 4 clicks switched it to setting wattage and holding temperature, i cranked it up to like 60w, killer.

Last edited:

Brewdawg1181

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 30, 2017
Metro ATL
Ha - wondering why I didn't get a notification on your reply.