21700 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

AtomicMike421

Nov 1, 2022
Hello everyone, I am relatively new to mech's, but not vaping (switched from cigs like 5-6 years ago) I finally decided to try a mech so after days of research about battery/mech saftey, I ordered one (THC tauren max). First of all, I'm like sad I didn't do this sooner, the vape I get off it is so insanely good! But theres one thing I cant seem to figure out... Using an 18650 is flawless, no problems at all. But if I wanna use a 21700, I've noticed that I often need to take much shorter hits, only because if I try to do a full breath inhale like I do with the 18650's, I can start to taste a dry hit towards the end. I always see others taking looooooong full breath inhales with their 21700 mechs, but I cant seem to do it with mine... The coils I use are various builds from coilclout/twizted timmys/rebels coils/MTN coils/etc.. Is it my wicking that could be causing this? I've tried loose and tight wicks but it feels like no matter what I do, it always seems to want to go dry before the end of my hit when using 21700's.... BTW the batteries I have are Molicel P28A 18650's and Molicel P42A 21700's. Any insight/tips would be greatly appreciated!

ShowMeTwice

Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 28, 2016
The Forest
Okay... so you have this mech???

authentic-thunderhead-creations-thc-tauren-max-hybrid-mechanical-tube-mod-brass-black-1-x-1865...jpg

What RBA are you using???

Dual or single coil???

Coil ohms???

A photo, or two, of your build would be very helpful.

ShowMeTwice

Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 28, 2016
The Forest
Yes that's the one!
Dual 6-core aliens @ .12
On Twisted Messes TM24

At 0.12Ω you are pushing the Molicel P42A 21700 beyond what Mooch (the battery expert) recommends.

Mooch rates the P42A at 30 amps.

On a full charge (4.2V) and 0.12Ω your P42A is drawing 35A and delivering 147W.