3 years and (almost) 4 months.....

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been away from here for a while and wanted to post about my success in kicking tobacco by vaping.

I started playing around with disposable e-cigs in Jan 2013. They tasted horrible, were unreliable, but helped me drop from a two pack a day smoker to one pack a day. I experimented with some different e-cig hardware and through trial and error found some hardware and liquid that wasn't bad. I set a date of April 15, 2013 to quit regular cigs and put my last one out at 11:55 PM on April 14, 2013.

After a couple of weeks of vaping only, I knew that for the first time in 39 years I had found the way to finally get off of regular cig's. I set my next goal of June 15, 2013 to be nicotine free. I gradually reduced the amount of nicotine in my e-juice to 6mg, then mixed 50/50 6mg and 0mg. On June 15, 2013 I went strictly 0 nicotine. Over the next two years I never touched a regular cigarette and stayed on 0 nicotine e-juice.

I was down to only picking up my mod once or twice a week and had kicked the habit!! Until.... one Friday about six months ago on the way home from work (after a particularly stressful, tiring day), I saw the Vuse brand in my local convenience store and in a weak moment bought one. I don't know for sure how much nicotine is in them, but within a week I was nicotine dependent again. At least I didn't buy a pack of cigarettes!!

I quickly found myself going through 4-6 cartridges a day at a cost of about $25/day. This had to stop and my wife encouraged me to look at a way to get off of the nicotine again. A friend had an Eleaf iStick TC100W with a Kangertech Subtank Mini, .5Ω OCC coil and 3mg e-juice. I tried it and couldn't believe the quality of the vape. Boy oh boy, has vaping come a long way since my last mod purchase over two years ago!!