97 Tobacco Flavors! (292 posts, 216 Recommendations, 97 flavors = my big survey)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeB

ECF Veteran
Apr 22, 2011
Louisiana
I'm a newbie and I'm desperately trying to find a tobacco flavor I like. Everyone has there own opinion, and it's hard to find a consensus reading ECF's threads. I can't afford to buy every flavor, so I decided I would start recording people's opinions to see what stood out.

My method was simple. I set up a spreadsheet and kept it open on my second monitor as I read the ECF. Every time someone recommended a tobacco flavor that wasn't on my list, I added it. Every time someone recommend a tobacco flavor that was on my list, I added a "vote". Every time someone said they hated a flavor I added a "vote against". So far, I have surveyed 11 threads on tobacco flavors, containing a total of 292 posts. From those posts, 234 "votes" were cast for one of 97 flavors. Below are the results, sorted by: Total Votes, then by Manufacturer Name, then by name. And remember, just being on the list is a good thing, because it means someone recommended it to someone else. I plan to keep doing this as I read the ECF and see where it leads.

For the silly people:
This is in NO way scientific. You would need a waaaay larger sample size to actually mean anything. Then there are the biases, for instance, I'm sure the ECF as a whole is biased toward one manufacturer or another. If I surveyed the posts of another forum, I'm sure I'd get different results. For purity, I tried to stay away from obvious manufacturer fanboy threads so as to not skew the results too badly. Once I have a larger sample size, adding those shouldn't effect it as much. Also, a simple "vote" cannot record how much someone liked or hated something. I could've done a 1-5 scale thing, but that would just get too complicated. In short, the ranking of a particular flavor below doesn't mean diddly. I just thought I'd share.