Status
Not open for further replies.

AnnaLaw

Verified Member
Jan 14, 2013
United Kingdom
I've been using small genesis clones for a few months, I thought I'd solved all the wick and wire problems, could make decent mesh wicks and got good coils. Then I got an Aga-t.
So yesterday I made a couple of #400 SS wicks,
not very happy with them as I think I didn't use enough mesh. So these wicks have a big hole in the middle and not many layers of mesh.
Anyway, I dropped one in the aga and wound a 0.20 mm kanthal A1 coil (sorry, don't know the AWG size of that as I'm in the UK but I think it's the most common gauge). Disaster!
Resistance on about 6 coils made was fine, between 1.8 and 2.8 ohms, as I was trying to get it to work with different numbers of wraps, and once even with thicker wire. After winding I shuffled coils around to get what looked like a nice even spread of turns. But with every coil the same thing happened.
The wire between wick and centre post turned practically white hot then snapped. It did look as though only the top part of the coil was hot, when I had enough time to look before the wire breaking.
I'm about to cut a much bigger bit of mesh and try again, but does anybody have tips for me?
I love mesh wicks and gennies, for me mesh beats silica hands down, but any idea why I'm getting so much overheating on the wire to the top post? It breaks where the wire leaves the wick, I think, although sometimes it may be closer to the top post.

Trick

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 14, 2012
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Pretty common with the AGA-T. I've seen three solutions, two of which I know work because I've tried them myself:

1. Bend the wick toward the center post as close as possible.
2. Use a small washer on the center post to extend the center post out closer to the wick