Am I doing this right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tim Haskell

Feb 20, 2019
I am new to vaping and am still a bit confused on what to expect from my equipment.

I started with a aspire breeze 1 and am using the 1.2 ohm coil with 45mg nic salt.

I just got an aegis legend with the aero tank with the .2 ohm supermesh coil.
The juice is 30mg free base nic.

The hit from aspire COMPLETELY different from the aegis.
The aspire vapor is hardly noticeable while the aegis is actually hot in temperature.

Is this normal for a box mod hit compared to an All in One unit?

The aeromesh coil recommended 60 to 80 watts but will function from 30 to 90.
I have decreased the watts to 45 and it did cool the hit down dramatically. I haven't adjusted the temperature control yet.

Any input or suggestions are appreciated. Thanks .

Topwater Elvis

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2012
Texas
30 mg/ml FB nic in a subΩ DTL tank is going to be harsh. Pg/VG ratio will play a part in that too.
Most use 3 - 6 mg/ml, maybe a few as much as 12mg/ml FB nic in delivery devices like that.
Not saying you can't or shouldn't use high nic strengths but you may find you're getting too much nic or the harshness is more than you want.

Nic salt = very little to no throat hit / harshness.
Free base = more pronounced throat hit.

You gotta move a lot of air (hard, rapid inhale) through a DTL tank as the air flowing through the delivery device is the cooling system.

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
Hi Tim. Welcome to the ECF.

The two Set-Ups you have are kinda on Opposite Ends of the Vaping Spectrum. So it is Hard to compare them.

What you are probably seeing though is that a Mod where you can Adjust the Wattage gives you the Ability to adjust the Hit you get. That is why I would Always recommend that someone New to Vaping starts out by using a Variable Wattage (VW) Mod.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio