Am I missing something?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wetclay

ECF Veteran
Oct 4, 2010
UAE
I'm new to TC. Only using it for the last few days on my hcigar Vt inbox. Using a 0.9ohm SS coil, I'm finding my sweet spot somewhere around 330 F with excellent flavor, vapor and warmth. I'm using the default profiles except that I bumped preheat to 55W. I notice that most are setting temp. to 400-450, which makes me wonder if I'm missing something? Nothing to complain about. Actually happy to be enjoying the vape at lower temps, but just wondering why the big difference.

bombastinator

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 12, 2010
MN USA
There are a couple reasons to use TC, but the original one was to avoid a potential safety issue.

That temperature is common because of a study done some years ago that claimed some devices started to emit unknown (but likely infintessimally small) quantities of more questionable chemicals when heated above that temperature. Keeping the temp below that insures that it does not happen.

there are some other reasons as well. 451f is the traditional flashpoint of cellulose, so it reduces wick burning. It can also affect the way some flavors behave.

AngeNZ

ShutterBug
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Contest Winner!
  • Mar 24, 2018
    New Zealand
    I'm new to TC. Only using it for the last few days on my Hcigar Vt inbox. Using a 0.9ohm SS coil, I'm finding my sweet spot somewhere around 330 F with excellent flavor, vapor and warmth. I'm using the default profiles except that I bumped preheat to 55W. I notice that most are setting temp. to 400-450, which makes me wonder if I'm missing something? Nothing to complain about. Actually happy to be enjoying the vape at lower temps, but just wondering why the big difference.

It's not just you - I'm another low temp tc vaper. I'm mtl so the preheat is 17 watts:

teecee.jpg

wetclay

ECF Veteran
    Oct 4, 2010
    UAE