Aspire BDC - junk?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thatguy188

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 20, 2014
Charleston, SC
Let me start off by saying I am brand new to vaping, matter of fact, it's been 7 days and 1 hour since I bought this kit.

I am on my 2nd coil as the first one started to taste horrible, like metal, no matter what voltage I used.

Earlier my 2nd coil barely produced any vapor so after a bit of reading I decided to clean it.

I washed it out under hot tap water, then put it in boiling water for 10 minutes. Put it in the oven for an hour at 200 degrees to make it nice and dry again.

Dry burned it 5 times, coils lit up at 2nd try.

Well now it tastes even worse than my 1st coil did. Nasty, strong, metal taste.

I don't use dark e-liquid, I do use "Menthol Tobacco" with 6 drops of "Sweet Charleston" by ecigcharleston.

As mentioned in the subject, it's an Aspire BDC and I'm just trying to get some insight as to why they seem to be going to crap so quick.

Btw it's a 2.1 ohm coil and I tried voltages between 3.3 and 4.

I also ordered a Protank 3 yesterday, hope it gets better :eek:

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Ca Ike

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 20, 2014
Cali
The aspire bdc uses similar heads to the pro tank 2. My guess is you didn't prime the coil first and let it soak in and clean the tank before using it the first time. My aspire came with a lot of machining residue and tooling oils taste like hot metal. Get new heads and soak the tank in rubbing alcohol overnight then rinse really well.

Now the pro tank 3 you ordered can be touchy. Make sure the coil head is screwed in tight then when you put it on your batt, go no more than 1/4 turn past where it makes contact with the center pin on the batt

thatguy188

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 20, 2014
Charleston, SC
I've put in 4 drops into the coils (how the lady at ecigcharleston told me) and put juice in and let it sit for 10 minutes.