Battery speculation

Status
Not open for further replies.

jorvic

ECF Veteran
Apr 24, 2011
Indianapolis
Hello everyone,

As far as I am aware our e-cig batteries are lithium-ion batteries. Now I'm not an expert on this, but the following is to the best of my knowledge.

Lithium-ion batteries share some common traits. Extreme temperatures are bad for the batteries (Heat more than cold). Cold will leech the charge from batteries while heat can damage the battery.

Draining the battery all of the way and then doing a full recharge also stresses the battery cells and will shorten the life of your battery. Frequent "topping off" charges are preferred for battery health. Some battery circuitry will prevent a full discharge to help save battery life.

Calibration about once a month tends to help lithium-ion batteries. This is performed by fulling draining the battery and then fully charging it.

Batteries should be stored at around half charge. Too low of a charge can make the battery unusable over time and storing it for a period fully charged will increase stress on the cells and hurt the battery.

Ok, so how much of this applies to our e-cigs and how much will actually make a noticeable difference? I dont know how much of the battery charge is left when the battery stops vapeing. I could test, and probably should. If it is too low then the life of our batteries would probably be prolonged by throwing them on the charger when we are around one instead of just waiting for it to die. This shouldnt be too hard to test, I just have to wait until I can afford to get a set of test batteries.

I'm not sure if calibration would really have much of an effect on these batteries. I feel that this is a good question and one that we could probably test. Some day when I get extra money to get a set of batteries I can try running some test, if no one has an answer.