battery venting?

Status
Not open for further replies.

happydave

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 2, 2013
United States
exactly how hard is it to vent a battery?
i have lots of experience building coils and testing for ohms and shorts.
i understand the limitations of my batteries
do i really need a fuse? i understand a fuse (circuit protection) is considered a required part for a complete circuit, but given the constant checking and maintenance i would be preforming is it really necessary?
so tell me, how many times have you vented a battery on an un-protected circuit? and what did you determine to be the cause?
im starting to mess around with a mech mod and some 18650 30 amps batteries.. not going for sub ohms but i know things can go wrong at any rate.
thanks for your input!

anavidfan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 14, 2012
U.S.
I always wondered the same thing. I had a battery vent on me for the first time during this last summer. I was lost driving around in a panic on 100 plus afternoon without air conditioning.

I was trying not to vape too much, as it was so hot in the car and my atomizer was getting hot and the heat seemed to be spreading down my mechanical mod.

I put it down on a towel that I keep so it doesnt roll around or get scratched , as I picked it up I noticed that it was all loose, Its a telescopic device, and thought what the heck.

At the next light I tightened it up took a drag and put it down. Again I picked it up and it was all loose. I didnt use it till I got home. I took it apart and noticed my battery looked odd. I saw that at the neg end it looked as though there was rust and it smelled funny.
I told someone and they told me it sounded like the battery vented and my mod did exactly what it was supposed to do in case of a battery venting. It just expanded and let the gasses out safely.