Building An RTA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ronald Bryant

Apr 17, 2019
Nashua
Hello all, I have a pressing question. I have been vaping for about 8 yrs now but I have JUST started building the rta's. I have three of them right now but I am having a problem. Here is the situation, one of the devices I have is the Vandy Vape Revolver. It is a single coil device. I have a (SS) -0.34 hom coil in it. I am using it in TEMP mode. The problem is that when I try to fire it up to see how the coil is heating up, I keep getting a "TEMP PROTECTION" error and the device shuts off. I have tried using it between 200 deg. F up to 350 deg. F. I have no idea why this is happening. Can anyone please give me some advice? I would truly appreciate any help at all. Hope I have given enough information here so you can understand what I mean. Thank you

B2L

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 14, 2012
Jacksonville, FL
Are you trying to dry burn your coil while in temp mode? I’m a mech guy with not a lot of experience with temp control but it would seem to me in order to dry burn you would need to use a bypass or wattage mode. A dry burned coil will heat up much higher than whatever temp you have it set to.

I’m sure someone with more experience with temp control will chime in, I could be off base here.

And, welcome to the forum!

P3ch3

ECF Veteran
Jan 31, 2019
dry burn is done in wattage mode, try to start at 25-30W, raising 5 by 5 or so, you just need to make'em glow and find "hotspots" make'em glow evenly, the more, the better, just remember, they should start glowing from center to sides,

Ti or titanium shouldn't be dry fired just in case,

Jebbn

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 2, 2018
safe distance from a black hole