Does anyone else think vaping prevents colds and flu?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 14, 2008
Akron OH USA
I've been vaping for over 2 1/2 years now and I have not had one cold or episode of influenza since. This may have been discussed elsewhere, but the forum has grown exponentially since I first joined, that it is a bit difficult to wade through all the info. I think PG and/or VG acts like some kind of disinfectant. What do you all think?

SKYYcamel

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 15, 2009
Mississippi
Not for me, got one of the worst sinus infections I've had a long time a few weeks ago. But no, technically no cold or flu so far, nothing affecting my lungs or throat.
I've had three wicked sinus infections since I started vaping almost two years ago. But, I attribute those to my bad sinuses, not vaping.

Chasm

ECF Veteran
Oct 24, 2009
Michigan
Not certain, but yes, I've been wondering the same thing. I've been vaping about 15 months now and haven't had a cold (not even sniffles or a runny nose) in that time. Two xMas's ago I spent most of the holidays in bed with possibly the worst cold I've ever had.

I figure it's either:

a. I'm not smoking anymore, therefore not bathing my lungs in 40 cigs worth of smoke every day, or

b. I am vaping, and therefore bathing my lungs in about 2-3 ml of mildly antibacterial/antiviral PG every day, or

c. both the above.

Last edited:

drum747

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 2, 2010
Oregon
There is a study out there from the 50's I believe that showed that PG had anti-bacterial properties. In fact, I believe at one time (in the 50's) they wanted to pump PG into air ducts in public facilities. I was vaping PG for several months and people in my family had 2 or 3 colds and I did not get them. This is a first! Last year I got every single cold! I have just switched to VG so we will see! LOL

oldsoldier

Retired ECF Forum Manager
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 17, 2010