excess throat hit---what to do??

Status
Not open for further replies.

puneet1984

Oct 24, 2013
pune
Hello
I am new to vaping. In India getting juices and coils are extremely difficult and thus i decided to go for DIY.
i procured pure nic and diluted to 10% PG. Then i again diluted it to make a 1% (10mg/ml) juice with 70/30 VG/PG mix.
For flavouring i used menthol crystals and mixed 2gm of crystals in 18mg of PG and dissolved everything to get a 10% flavour.
Now when i mix 20 drops of the flavour to 20ml of the 1% e-liquid, the throat hit is too much and makes me cough.
Can anyone help me out and tell me how to make the throat hit less.

Last edited:

smacuser

Total Member
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Contest Winner!
  • Jan 22, 2012
    Vape Hartwell, GA
    I am new to vaping.

Really? You've been a member here for over 7 years. o_O

Maybe dissolve your crystals in PG instead of VG, PG is the better flavor carrier. Try using half of what you normally add and make your juice 50/50 PG/VG.

Welcome back :thumbs:.

smacuser

Total Member
    Supporting Member
    ECF Veteran
    Verified Member
    Contest Winner!
  • Jan 22, 2012
    Vape Hartwell, GA
    "making juice 50/50." so i understand that the more VG (70%) is causing the throat hit??
    Okay, sorry about that. I always read the first number as PG. I need to stop doing that. lol.

You're mixing 2 grams of crystal in 18mg pg, or do you mean 18ml? Because 18mg sounds like nic base. I believe 1% sounds right, but always heard crystals are mixed 1:2 for dilution.

There also might be an off chance your dilution of the nicotine is incorrect. Does the final mix feel like 10mg without the menthol?

Do you have an upgraded device? What watts are you vaping at and what ohm coil?

Edit: it appears you've taken to sub ohming. Maybe lower your nic to 3-6mg.

Last edited:

puneet1984

Oct 24, 2013
    pune
    Well I have used juicemeup software for mixing.