First build attempts, couple questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

thirtyfour41

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Hi guys. I'm relatively new to vaping but wanted to try my hand at building my own coils. I didn't want to break the bank so I ordered fasttech:

https://www.fasttech.com/products/1431800
and
https://www.fasttech.com/p/1552300

First off, did I make decent choices?

Second, I figured I'll try one of each, dripper and tank. For the time being, I am going to use my MVP 2.0 as a battery until I can learn more about sub ohming and proper battery use/safety. But I'm still trying to get down to around 1.4-1.5 ohms. What gauge kanthal do you recommend and how many wraps, give or take? I found a helpful post here:

http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/forum/reos-mods/446263-micro-coils-ohms-description.html

But I am still a little confused on what to wrap it on and how many wraps average will give me what I'm looking to accomplish. Also, I think because of its availability and price, I am thinking of just using cotton to start.

I would appreciate any suggestions or advice you guys can give. Thanks!

mightymen

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
  • Nov 22, 2012
    No you can't
    But I am still a little confused on what to wrap it on and how many wraps average will give me what I'm looking to accomplish. Also, I think because of its availability and price, I am thinking of just using cotton to start.

I would appreciate any suggestions or advice you guys can give. Thanks!

5042886961.jpg
    I get my cotton from CVS cotton sq at the makeup section big bag $3.79 don't have to boil them - CVS Premium Cotton Squares, 100% Cotton - CVS pharmacy
    Most use a small drill bit I use a 16ga needle it allows me to insert the cotton then withdraw the coil with cotton inside.

More coils more ohms thicker wire more ohms.

Five wraps should give around 2.1 ohms depending on your wire thickness.

TIP: Buy what you need not what you want!

Last edited:

suspectK

Vaping Master