jpcwon

Ultra Member
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 14, 2014
North Easton, MA
Hello All,

So I have only been vaping for a few months. I started out with a Halo Triton system but rapidly found out that there were better options, so I moved onto an iTaste VTR (which I love). Well me being an Engineer, I love to tinker with stuff, so I figured it might be fun to build my own setups. I just received an HCigar Omega Clone from eBay. I went with the Omega as it seemed like a pretty easy platform to learn on, and I like how it has adjustable airflow.

So I got my 28ga. Kanthal and cotton all set...I started with a 9/8 (I think?) coil around a #0 Phillips head screwdriver, which came out to roughly 1.2 Ohms. I installed the coil into the Omega, fired it up on my Magneto mech mod, and voila! The coil was glowing from the inside out! "This is great" I thought, so I put the cotton in, loaded up some ejuice, and had my first RDA vape...I must say, it was VERY enjoyable!!

So fast forward about an hour. I decided to get crazy, so I installed a SECOND coil into the Omega which halved the resistance down to 0.6 Ohms. "Whoa", I thought....I am about to sub-ohm for the first time!! So I loaded it onto my Magneto, dry-fired it (no cotton installed, obv..), and it fired no problem!! So I loaded up the cotton, applied ejuice, and had my first sub-ohm vape...

Now here's where my Newb-question comes in.....I pretty quickly realized that the vape was WAAAY too hot for my tastes, so I took the second coil out and am sticking with the one coil @ 1.2 Ohms for the time being.. 3.7 volts from the battery at 0.6 Ohms gives you a 23 watt output...seems a bit high, no?