Habitual Pipe Smoker Trying to Make the Switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wyniverrn

Dec 14, 2012
MouseTown, USA
Hello! I've been smoking a pipe for a few years now (don't really wanna say how long, as I'm firmly in the under-30 crowd and I don't quite think I want to admit how young I started sneaking puffs off my grandfather's pipe, lol) and very much enjoy it. However, being an opera-singer by trade, I realize that I can't keep smoking forever. I found out about e-cigarettes recently, and have pretty much decided to make the switch; but boy, do I need some advice. There are five-million types and styles to choose from, and I just don't know where to begin. Can you help me?

First off, I am not an evening pipe-smoker. I carry my pipe in its little case everywhere with me, and would expect to do the same with an e-cig. I'm a moderate to heavy smoker (usually 5 or 6 bowls a day, give or take depending on how stressed I am and how long the day is) and would like a battery that will last me a full day. Either that, or something that has a USB charger so I can charge it on the fly.

Secondly, I have no idea what strength e-juice to buy. I don't inhale, and tend to smoke slowly. I have no idea how much nicotine is in a bowl (if it helps, I smoke cavendish tobacco of varrying brands) or how that corresponds to e-juice.

And that brings me to flavor: I think I want something that'll taste of wood and molassass, like cavendish tobacco. I understand that tobacco really is pretty obnoxious once you get your tastebuds back, but...gah, I don't know. Should I try for a cavendish flavor (and if so, do y'all know of a particularly good one?) or should I just admit that it'll never taste like real proper tobacco and go for something like vanilla or coffee instead? How about fruit flavored ones? Aren't those a little weird?