Hot Batteries, Plastic Smell Upon Entering Room

Status
Not open for further replies.

Binigo

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 12, 2014
California
I've been using the same Xtar Wp2 since 2013'ish. I was charging two VTC4's that were purchased from RTDvapor on March of 2019. Never had problems with Sony batteries or my charger before. But I put the pair in my charger like I have for all these years and left for lunch (12:00 pm). Returned at 3 pm and when I entered my room this strange plastic smell immediately told me something was wrong. I took the batteries out and they were hot. Not too hot to touch but hot enough to be concerned.

I smelled the positive side end of the charging bay and it smelled burned but no visible damage to the outside of the unit. No visible damage to the batteries either. I always play safe with these things so I disposed of the charger and recycled the batts.

One thing I should also mention, I just moved here in the Philippines 2 months ago. Although I've never had a problem charging these batteries using a converter/transformer - i dont know what the proper name is. (Philippines' 220V to 110V) I'm curious if this is the actual issue?

I'd like to know if you guys have had any problems like this. I'm not sure what to do now as I only have one good battery left and no charger. I'm afraid of buying batts out here also because I dont know what places are trustworthy. I don't if my charger just got old or what. I couldn't find much info on when to replace chargers or signs of a charger going bad. Even more difficult for me to find info on using such chargers in the Philippines on 220v wall socket with converter / transformer whatever its called.

Izan

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 1, 2012
Mallorca, Spain