How does battery voltage work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Justin1911

Jun 3, 2018
I'm pretty new to vaping and am trying to learn about battery safety. The question I have is: if I have a Voopoo Drag (dual 18650) and my batteries fully charged are 3.7v (7.4 in series), and I'm continuously vaping at 5.8v, what happens as the batteries are depleted? If my batteries don't have 5.8v of charge but my device is still demanding 5.8v, that's bad right? And how do you tell how many volts your batteries are charged to if the mod doesn't tell you (mine only has the little battery icon with bars that disappar as the battery drains)? Sorry if it's a dumb or hard to understand question, I'm just trying to make sure I get this right. Thanks.

Reactions: stols001

stormjib

ECF Veteran
Sep 19, 2014
California
Fully charged batteries have a charge of 4.2 volts. 3.7 is their 'nominal' charge, irrelevant to our uses. So a dual battery mod like yours, series, fully charged has 8.4 volts. The purpose of the chip/board is to regulate the voltage, when your batteries exceed the voltage required, it 'steps down' the current. When the required voltage exceeds the charge of the battery, the chipset 'boosts' the power. So you really don't have to worry at all about the voltage of your battery, in typical use...although once they get low, it's typical that the mod won't be able to deliver the power....but by then it's time to recharge them or lower your wattage. Hope that helps some. I'm not an expert but I'm confident that this information is correct.

EverythingEvil

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 26, 2014
Grand Junction, Co
Thats not exactly how it works, the chip in a regulated mod can essentialy pull whatever voltage it needs from the batteries based on the wattage set and the resistance of the coil used. Im not sure if most mods have a voltage cut off or not. I run my mod at about 6v constant with no issues.

untar

Vaping Master
Feb 7, 2018
Germany