How Long Can Your "Perfect Coil" In Your Favorite RDA Be Rewicked?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NoMoreTequila

ECF Veteran
Aug 22, 2012
Northern California
OK, I'm pretty new to RDAs and recently realized that I've been rewicking the same coil build for over a month now and that I'v
never actually read anything about a coils longevity. :confused:

I have an IGO-L with a 28ga spring coil at 1.2ohm using a common diameter bit.(Pardon my buzz) :facepalm:

It's pretty much perfect for me still. I just dry burn and re wick as needed. I'm wondering what it is that I can expect. Will the coil eventually fail altogether? As in burn in half? Or, should I be expecting a drop in performance to precede the coils demise? :ohmy:

I'm guessing that the gauge wire and whether it's a micro or macro matters as well as voltage and usage. :unsure:

What say you? :)

ImThatGuy

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 1, 2012
California
I usually have my builds last a little over a month, but I use ss mesh so I don't rewick.

Coils will drop in performance in time because of use. That should be the first sign for it to be replaced. You are correct in size, voltage, and usage are factors of it. What you forgot to mention is maintenance with how you clean it and what juice it runs. Juice is a factor because different juices use different ingredients that may or may not gunk the coil to the point it won't be 'recycled'.

NoMoreTequila

ECF Veteran
Aug 22, 2012
Northern California
I usually have my builds last a little over a month, but I use ss mesh so I don't rewick.

Coils will drop in performance in time because of use. That should be the first sign for it to be replaced. You are correct in size, voltage, and usage are factors of it. What you forgot to mention is maintenance with how you clean it and what juice it runs. Juice is a factor because different juices use different ingredients that may or may not gunk the coil to the point it won't be 'recycled'.