Idea: Car PV Mod

Status
Not open for further replies.

nerve007

Dec 21, 2010
Canada
Ok, so from time to time, I forget to bring my pv with me when I leave the house. Other times, I just don't want to kill my battery on a long road trip. I also currently only have one pv. So I've started planning my next mod.

I haven't yet heard of this being done, although I'm sure it has. I intend on using the car's battery to power my pv. As an electronics student, I felt well enough equipped to design this thing. But I was hitting a wall right from the start. A zener regulator would require some hefty power resistors, and I'm not all that confident in my theory at the moment to design a transistor regulator (summer break, ya know). But the sky opened up, and the angels sang when I found a DC-DC converter that will step down my car's 12V supply to my usual 3.7V. The little package is rated at 10W with a max current of 3A. It turns out, that may just be perfect for my application. I've ordered it, and it should be arriving by September.

I have a basic idea of how I want the device to function, but would welcome some input from veteran and amateur modders out there. As my knowledge of automobiles is quite limited, I could be steering down the wrong path.

So let me know if you have any ideas that may help. I'm always willing to learn something new.

Matt

Java_Az

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 29, 2010
Colorado
Only thing i can say to watch out for is that you should make your design able to handle 14.5 volts. Not sure what the max input is for the reg you got but when a car is running and the battery is charging off the alternator your going to be seeing a voltage as high as 14.5 volts. Other then that if your going to all this trouble why not make it variable voltage then you can adjust to a more perfect voltage for vaping.

nerve007

Dec 21, 2010
Canada
Thanks for the input guys,