Status
Not open for further replies.

Cool_Breeze

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 10, 2011
Kentucky
I'm considering a Gripper e-cig devcie produced by Smoktech. I have no experience with IRM batteries wich seem to be what is used in the Gripper. I'm comfortable with protected Li-ion batteries and appreciate that they shut down with overcurrent or a short. I do some replacement wick and coil building. I tend not to vape low Ohm sources, but occassionally have accidents with DIY coils.

I know that generally IMR types may be a little shorter than equivalent protected Li-Ions. Length questions 'might' be resolved by flat-top or non-raised button top Li-Ions. I'm not certain, but is typical current liming on protected Li-Ions around 2.5 Amps?

While I understand the high current drain IRMs are capable of, I don't understand their performance under high current circumstances.

When shorted, to IRMs heat up? Is there anyway they shut themselves down?

Cost of batteries and a charging source are factors in my possible decision to move to a Gripper. As well, Ampacity of IMRs is generally lower than that of protected Li-Ions.

If the length and connections are okay, can protected Li-Ions be used in place of IRMs in most devices? Are there concerns other than over-current?

Is short, if one isn't expecting to use low resistance and high current, are there other compelling reasons to go with IRM/High Drain?

DarkAynjil

ECF Veteran
Sep 23, 2011
El Paso
I'm considering a Gripper e-cig devcie produced by Smoktech. I have no experience with IRM batteries wich seem to be what is used in the Gripper. I'm comfortable with protected Li-ion batteries and appreciate that they shut down with overcurrent or a short. I do some replacement wick and coil building. I tend not to vape low Ohm sources, but occassionally have accidents with DIY coils.