Letter to my Senator...

Status
Not open for further replies.

maine_builder

Apr 29, 2013
ME, USA
Hello all, I'm new to the forum but I've been vaping for almost 4 months now. I live in Maine, and there is a proposed bill HP 950 that would tax and regulate electronic-cigarettes. There is a hearing on the 6th that I'm probably not going to be able to go to, but I have written my thoughts into a letter to send to my state senators and representatives and am posting it here for suggestions or thoughts.

It is as follows:

To Whom it May Concern,

I would like to begin by saying I am opposed to HP 950. This legislation would impose a new, unwarranted, and unjustified tax on smoke-free electronic cigarettes. This tax would not only be applied to nicotine-based liquids, but also include the hundreds of individual components and accessories. This would include (but is not limited to), PV's (Personal Vaporizers), Starter Kits, Atomizers, Cartomizers, tanks, mouth pieces, wicks, wires, replacement parts, batteries, and even NICOTINE-FREE liquids.

I had smoked 1.5 packs of cigarettes a day for 17 years before discovering electronic cigarettes. I was a slave to them. I couldn't go a day without them, or even a few hours knowing I didn't have them on-hand. It is a dirty, disgusting habit. It made my hands smell, my breath smell, my clothes, my house, my garage, my vehicle. I coughed up black tar constantly. Coughing fits could last several minutes, and when it was over, my chest would be burning, eyes watering, and the first thought in my head would be "I need a smoke". How can something have that kind of power over a person.