LG HG2 and Flashlights

Status
Not open for further replies.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I'm sure that @Mooch will eventually be along to give a more informed answer than myself. Until he does, I'll give my :2c:.

My father was a carpenter and he always told me to use the "right tool for the right job".
Flashlights typically call for protected low-drain ICR or alkaline batteries.
The LG HG2 are unprotected high-drain INR batteries.

Will they work in a flashlight. Yes.
Will they be safe if used in a flashlight? Probably, but safe is always a relative term with batteries.
Are they the ideal battery for the job? Maybe/maybe not.

I'm not a flashlight expert, and I imagine that there are high-tech professional-grade flashlights that do call for a high drain battery. But for the typical consumer-level person that uses a flashlight for around the home or car use I suspect ICR or alkaline batteries are ideal.

Last edited:

Beamslider

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 29, 2017
San Francisco
They are little cree single 18650 or 3 AAA flashlights. No protection other than reverse polarity and cuts off at low battery charge as far as I can tell. Currently have protected batteries in them that are ready for replacing soon.

Not a problem to get more protected batteries. Just wondering if the HGs could be used for them. No problem if they aren't usable. The HGs are still in decent shape but no problem just recycling them.

1/2 fast

ECF Veteran
Dec 3, 2013
SW Ohio
Been using AW button tops in flashlights for 3+ years without a problem. With these old eyes there’s a flashlight in every room of the house, in the cars and even clipped to the jeans pocket. I like using the same type of batteries for vaping and flashlights. “Backups of backups” kinda thing.......

DaveP

PV Master & Musician
ECF Veteran
May 22, 2010
Central GA