Liquid in lungs

Status
Not open for further replies.

addie723

Aug 2, 2017
I have been vaping for about 2 years now after using the vape to quit smoking. I am a pretty constant vaper. Over the past few weeks I've been coughing a lot and it's liquid I am coughing up. I am a singer and lately every time I try and sing I have to stop because of the liquid buildup in my throat that I have to cough up. It's especially bad right after I vape. It feels like the vapor clings to my lungs and collects in my throat. It's become a pretty serious issue. I did switch liquid brands a few months ago, maybe that has something to do with it? Does anyone have any experience with this?

addie723

Aug 2, 2017
Hello and Welcome! What pg vg mix are you using? Maybe after 2 years of not smoking it is time to give up the vape?
Hi! I am using 70%vg 30%pg I've worked my way down to 3mg nicotine after starting at 24mg so I'm almost nicotine free but I just love vaping :( but if it's affecting me then I guess I'll have to.

Reactions: listopencil

Larry J

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 27, 2014
Amarillo, Texas
I also experience considerable drainage, particularly right after a vape session. I seriously doubt that you are coughing up fluid from your lungs, since that would be pneumonia (but see a doctor about that). Mine is post-nasal drainage which can still be very aggravating. If you're a professional or serious singer, you should probably just quit vaping to get rid of it. However, as @Gratch suggests, a higher PG content may help. I noticed that mine got a lot worse after I switched to max VG juice.

Gratch

Jul 9, 2017
Hi! I am using 70%vg 30%pg I've worked my way down to 3mg nicotine after starting at 24mg so I'm almost nicotine free but I just love vaping :( but if it's affecting me then I guess I'll have to.
It might be best if you are a Singer, your voice is your livelyhood after all. I find high vg liquids no good for my chest i only vape 60% plus pg ones MTL.

BrotherBob