Mod safety

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coolsiggy

ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2018
Perth, Western Australia
I am new to vaping but with some knowledge of electronics and after experiencing a juice short with a squonk mod where the atty fired continuously I became concern with overall safety of design. Some questions,
1. A lack of moisture resistance does not appear to be a important design consideration?
2. Thermo protection does not seem adequate?
I would have thought that a simple bi-metal thermo switch or thermo fuse would be a big help in preventing battery failures. Great to hear any comments or thoughts.

Reactions: stols001

bombastinator

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 12, 2010
MN USA
1. Depends. It is to experienced vapers. Not so much to the new ones or the manufacturers.

2. That sounds like a question for @Mooch . He’s the local battery guru. His blog Mooch's blog | E-Cigarette Forum has a wealth of information about such things. It may even already be there. From what I remember he said that one of the issues of thermal protection in vape gear is it’s thermal protection for the board not the batteries.

• Agree

Punk In Drublic

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 28, 2018
Toronto, ON
There are many safety features designed into a modern chip based mod – how well they are implemented is unknown which is why your first line of safety should always be common sense.

I do not know of any device that offers thermal battery protection. Any device that has thermal protection it will be for the board (chipset). Moisture or liquid resistance adds cost to a device so this is a feature that is not always used. But even with devices that claim liquid resistance I would still proceed on the side of caution – do not let marketing influence a false sense of security.

Coolsiggy

ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2018
Perth, Western Australia
Just a bit curious if your mod is a mechanical or is regulated (with circuit board).