New to building coils

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carl Town

Aug 11, 2018
Hi all
I have started to go on to rebuilibles and have just bought the recurve tea and bought a new mod which is the pulse 80 watt sampler and bought some pre made coils and got all my tools and as bag of cotton pads.I was asking some friends how much cotton to cut width and got 3 different answers.one told me tocutt 6mm wide another told me to cut 9 mm wide and the other told me to cut 12.7 'mm wide can anybody on here put us in the right direction if possible as I am new to all this please.
Thanks all

Reactions: stols001

suprtrkr

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2014
Cowtown, USA. Where the West begins.
If you are using cotton, the wick should slide freely through the coil, but fill it completely. With the atty base on the build stand, you should be able to pull the tails back and forth through the coil without the build stand sliding around on the table. Too much cotton in the coil will "choke" the wick and reduce juice flow; lower juice transport through the coil reduces evaporative cooling of the wick and it will burn. Too little cotton is also problematic; this causes pops and spitting. There's a learning curve involved and it's just going to take some practice. As a suggestion, cut more cotton than you know you need, and start "thinning" the wick until you get it to where it will slide back and forth. Then estimate how much of what you cut you wound up wasting, and cut thinner by about that much next time. Have patience and you'll get it. It's also helpful to build all your coils the same diameter; that way you can cut the same piece of cotton for each one.