New vaper, possibly accidentally-on-purpose ex-smoker

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaka

ECF Veteran
May 2, 2010
Texas
These forums have been absolutely invaluable the last couple of weeks.

I actually started researching ecigs for a friend who really wanted to turn an enforced cigarette hiatus (hospital stay) into a successful quit, but returned to smoking. She'd tried an "e-cigarette" but found it didn't kill her nicotine cravings and tasted bad, and although she had thought it had potential to help her quit, she was ultimately unsuccessful in replacing her tobacco and clove smoking with what was little more than an inert plastic tube. After hearing about how disappointing her ecig experience was, I thought there must surely be a better version out there and jumped into high-intensity GoogleFu mode. I kept ending up here, and kept learning. End result: I think I may have _accidentally_ quit smoking.

I've been smoking for almost 20 years; my record high was 6 packs a day. The psychology of my addiction is based in part on independence/rebellion; any suggestion that I should quit, internal or external, sends me running outside for a nice chain-smoking session just to prove/reassure myself that I can. Being without cigarettes generates panic. Being asked not to smoke here/now/so much makes me angrily critical in return. I'm not a good candidate for deciding to quit; even my doctor has given up really trying to get me to.

As I researched for my friend, I thought vaping sounded kind of fun. Tastier. Less stinky. Maybe I could add a vice... Less fatal. Maybe I could add a vice and accidentally-without-letting-myself-think-about-it reduce my actual tobacco smoking, without missing the nicotine or missing the physical, psychological, and social rituals. And without making myself angry at myself.