RDA Ohms changing on built coil

Status
Not open for further replies.

Conner85

Unresolved Status
Feb 18, 2015
Indiana
I'm new to RDAs. A friend of mine sold me his Mutation X V2 and his iPV3 and wired a coil for me since I didn't know how. This whole time I've been vaping away on the Mutation and reading about how vaping below .2 ohms is pretty dangerous. I got curious today to check the ohm load of the coil he built and bought an ohm meter. It changes between .3 and goes down to .19 and I've been vaping somewhere between 40 and 65 watts. The wattage is displayed on the iPV3, but I just wanted to test its accuracy. And it's right. When he last vaped this iPV3, it was set to 69 watts. Safe or no?

alicewonderland

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 28, 2012
safe all depends on the amps your battery can handle. you have to lookup what battery is in the device and what the amp rating is.

vapecalc.com

a 0.19ohm resistance coil at 69 watts says its 3.62volts at 19.06 amps. There is somethign about regulated devices though that makes it safer but im not 100% sure on what it is but is till try to keep away from super low resistance at high watts that is out of reach of my battery on a mech.

resistance changes alot for coils, when it heats up it changes resistance, if its moved or molded or squeezed it changes resistance because the path of wire changes.

edyle

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 23, 2013
Port-of-Spain, Trinidad & Tobago