Power MOSFET - easy VV?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AttyPops

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 8, 2010
Hc Svnt Dracones - USA EST
OK guys... I'm a noob, and will probably just do a BigBlue evercool type of thing in the future. Nice fairly turn-key solution. So, please bear with me, but I'm having trouble absorbing power MOSFET tech. So, for theory's sake as well as my understanding:

MOSFET is good technology for power switching. OK. It can handle PWM if the gate is logic-level. Atties don't care about ripple. VV can thus be obtained with PWM using a mosfet? Now, the module that BB used in the evercool is basically doing that (and some filtering with caps... and maybe a lot of other under-hood magic too).

Why, for an e-cig, can't we just use a POT and proper capacitor to make a simple oscillator and drive a power MOSFET? (I could use a low-pin-count microcontroller here too with PWM, and even drive an LCD, or USB port....).

+ --->current limiting resistor (may not be needed with RC Osc)-> Power Button ----> Some RC Oscillator ------->Gate PIN of Power MOSFET

Source and drain hooked to 2 3.7 volt 14500's (4 example) through atty.

I know this is probably a dumb question, but heck... It will help me understand why I need an entire module for VV. And remember, be kind...... :)

Last edited:

Java_Az

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 29, 2010
Colorado
The proveri uses a microcontroller to adjust the voltage. Only mod out right now i know of that uses one. I guess it uses a digital pot by way of push buttons. But thats just a guess waiting to see some reviews on it. Too bad it is ugly as hell ( in my opinion ).