Probably a total noob question but here goes..

Status
Not open for further replies.

LikelySplash710

Sep 28, 2017
So these two builds totally different ohms and wire gauge the first 24ga the second 30ga both kanthal. But which is best? Are they just different?

Screenshot_20171027-003154.png
Screenshot_20171027-003133.png

Reactions: stols001

Katya

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2010
SoCal
So as far as the the gauge goes the higher the number the more the resistance go up. Also the more wraps the resistance goes up. I'm wondering if 5 wraps 22ga kanthal at like .2-.25 or 20ga kanthal at .2-.25 is more effective.

Rule of thumb (same ID coil, of course). The thinner the wire, the higher the resistance of the coil (fewer wraps are needed)--less power is needed to heat the coil. If you use thicker (lower res.) wire, you'll need more power (watts) to heat the coil to desired temperature but you gain more surface area to vaporize your juice. Hence, thinner wires are used for lower wattage (MTL) vaping, thicker wire for high wattage, big clouds DH vaping. Heat flux is also important. Always refer to the steam engine calculator Tony linked for you.

LikelySplash710

Sep 28, 2017
Rule of thumb (same ID coil, of course). The thinner the wire, the higher the resistance of the coil (fewer wraps are needed)--less power is needed to heat the coil. If you use thicker (lower res.) wire, you'll need more power (watts) to heat the coil to desired temperature but you gain more surface area to vaporize your juice. Hence, thinner wires are used for lower wattage (MTL) vaping, thicker wire for high wattage, big clouds DH vaping. Heat flux is also important. Always refer to the steam engine calculator Tony linked for you.
That makes sense I just have to hear things really simple when I read I have trouble understanding. Most of the forums I end up reading start explaining then end with people arguing and I get confused..

Caterpiller

ECF Veteran