Question - DIY improved my experience by 100%... Next? Building?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SonnyCrack

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 22, 2011
Florida
I've been mixing for around 4 months now and enjoy vaping more than ever. I can't imagine buying another juice again. ELR and ATF is like an endless juice store where everthing is 95% off with free shipping.. That being said - for those that used to vaped factory coils and then got into building there own, was the improvement vastly better or just cheaper? I always looked at building as a chore that I'd just rather pay for the coils but I felt the same way about DIY juice and I had no idea what I was missing out on.

Any recommendations for a MTL subohm tank? I vape out of very thing drip tips (they are hard to get now, similar to a starbucks straw... )

Thanks in advance!

Ed Brown

ECF Veteran
Sep 29, 2019
North-Central PA (flyover country)
Cheaper for sure.
Buying factory coils became a chore, even before the vape mail ban. I had some older sub-ohm tanks. First the shops stopped selling the coils and then they got hard to find on-line. With a few exceptions, I'd say that any tank that uses factory coils will become obsolete when you can't get coils for them anymore. Some people here have stocked up on them to have a lifetime supply. That is a large investment.

Tanks with factory made coils are like computer printers. The manufacturers sell the hardware cheap and make their money on the ink cartridges. If you accidentally burn a factory coil, you have to throw away a $3 coil. If you accidentally burn a self built coil, you throw away pennies worth of cotton.

I also felt that the factory coils provided few options for varying the experience. Any rebuildable atomizer provides the ability to tailor the coil build to your preferences. It takes some time to get to know an atomizer and how it works with different builds. Like DIY, it helps to keep notes. So it may not be "better" right off.