rc car batteries??

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigmaaark

ECF Veteran
Sep 14, 2013
rancho cucamonga, ca
me and a friend of mine were having a discussion about batteries the other day because he asked me what batteries im using (sony vtc4) and then we started talking about rc cars (another hobby of ours) and we started thinking...would we be able to use rc car batteries for mods? im no battery expert but just a quick look up of some of these batteries i saw some that were like 8.4v 4500 mah etc (but they were in battery packs, i dont know if that was for a single battery or not). i doubt they have them in a 18650. anybody else thought of this or tried it? im not gonna try it so dont worry lol. ill stick with my sonys. im just curious

bigmaaark

ECF Veteran
Sep 14, 2013
rancho cucamonga, ca
yes im still in the process of learning all of the new tech since its been a while and im just getting back into it. but the battery technology for r/c cars seems like its much more advanced than the batteries we are using for our mods. so i dont see why not. i wish someone with a lot of battery knowledge would chime in...

LX1X

ECF Veteran
Nov 15, 2013
Fee State
me and a friend of mine were having a discussion about batteries the other day because he asked me what batteries im using (sony vtc4) and then we started talking about rc cars (another hobby of ours) and we started thinking...would we be able to use rc car batteries for mods? im no battery expert but just a quick look up of some of these batteries i saw some that were like 8.4v 4500 mah etc (but they were in battery packs, i dont know if that was for a single battery or not). i doubt they have them in a 18650. anybody else thought of this or tried it? im not gonna try it so dont worry lol. ill stick with my sonys. im just curious

different voltage.. rc battery packs are in a series to make the 8.4v.. ie.. 6 or 7 1.2v (i believe) connected to each other to make that 8.4v or 7.2v.