Status
Not open for further replies.

john333

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 20, 2011
Indiana
That does sound tasty. Do you think it would go with Vanilla Bourbon or Brandy? Have you considered mixing that with another tobacco flavor?

I have some brandy I have not tried yet. was actually thinking of mixing a cream with it. I think it would go fine with vanilla bourbon. I just got some tobacco flavors and may give it a try. I'm new to diy by the way.

Last edited:

Lemonaid

ECF Veteran
Jan 22, 2013
Idaho
VA fire cured, oakwood (or hickory), and a bit of caramel cream. Very intrigued by this red oak thing... will have to pick some up

I just received some FA black fire which I hear is somewhat similar to the VA fire cured. (not sure) trying to figure out what to do with it. My first impresion is really really strong and dominate mesquite smoke...I like this idea of adding the oak wood and maybe catalan cream... still waiting for the red oak...wizard order so hoping not too delayed.

Lemonaid

ECF Veteran
Jan 22, 2013
Idaho
I'm curious about so-called Tennessee Cured TB. Never tried it and haven't seen a concentrate. Anyone have any info? Sorry OP, not trying to hijack the thread. I just was wondering if Oakwood could be used in that process.

No worries love to hear from people and expand the conversation. haven't seen the Tennessee Cured .

boomerdude

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
I wouldn't go over 3% at first. See how you like it before upping the percentage. Cpt. Black is a strong flavor and too much can give you the wrong impression.

just curious what % are your mixing your captain black? my notes are showing suggestions all over the map.

Lemonaid

ECF Veteran
Jan 22, 2013
Idaho
I wouldn't go over 3% at first. See how you like it before upping the percentage. Cpt. Black is a strong flavor and too much can give you the wrong impression.