Resistance increasing over time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rhals

Jun 9, 2012
Denver (5,675 ft)
I'm fairly new to RBAs, and I've got a situation I'm hoping someone can help me understand better:

I use a LavaGen rba on my ProVari (the LG Reactor from Vaperfexion), with 500 mesh wick and [FONT=arial, sans-serif]Kanthal A-1 32 coil, and I can get it to work fine - sort of. My ohms read something like 2.7, [/FONT][FONT=arial, sans-serif]initially,[/FONT][FONT=arial, sans-serif] but after a few days of use it goes up to 2.9 and continuously increases by .1 or .2 ohms over time. Currently, it is at 4.7 after two-three weeks of use. Is this normal? Is it a result of the buildup on the coil, and-or how I'm cleaning it? For cleaning, I simply rinse everything under hot water, then I use a syringe to drip 180 proof Everclear over and through the wick and coil (about 1 ml worth), and then let it air dry. I've wondered if the Everclear was causing this effect, it might be somehow, but I clean my standard atomizers with it too and I don't experience similar issues.

Thanks in advance for anyone who can set me straight here.

Rhals
[/FONT]

Rhals

Jun 9, 2012
Denver (5,675 ft)
I've never seen a jump that high - is the coil actually clean after your rinse? Do you dry burn it to get the gunk off?

I don't dry burn it after I get it setup. I dry burn right after I wrap the coil, then burn off some unflavored juice to break it in, but then I leave it alone. I never physically touch the coils, and I rely on the hot water from my sink to rinse off any lose debris...

donnah

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 22, 2010
Albemarle, North Carolina