Resistance problems new builder

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tyler Moore

Apr 30, 2018
Hi I have been building for about 3 months and vaping for about 3 years. I haven't had any problems until recently. I'm using the drop rda and trying to build for unregulated series mod. I currently don't have any Kanthal wire so I decided to just do a simple build with 24 awg nichrome 80. I'm shooting for .4 build for dual coils so I wrapped them 14 wraps each. I installed them and checked them on my ohm meter and they are coming in at .12 to .15. I checked on steam engine and it says that each coil should clock in around .9. Ive built these coils twice with the same result both times. Anyone know what the problem could be or what I'm doing wrong? Thanks

Reactions: stols001

Tyler Moore

Apr 30, 2018
Whats confusing me is I never pulsed them before checking my resistance. It seems that 14 wrap 24 awg ni chrome 80 should be way above .15. According to steam engine it should be .9 per coil. I've built these coils twice with the same result also. Would not pulsing them before checking my resistance cause that or maybe a tiny piece of loose wire in the bottom of my rda? I can't figure out why there is such a drastic difference in what the coil calculator says and what I'm actually getting? Thanks for the much needed help!!!

Jeezus187

Oct 11, 2017
Los angeles california
Could be the mod I have the same reading problem and the smok alien try another device as a ohm reader and when I built that set up on the bonza it was horriible.bad set up imo to many watts the coils wouldn't heat upthe hole surface area i would suggest dual parralell 5 wrap its just a more efficient set up and is about the same vapor production as your set up.......ps the drop rda is with the business took my bonza out of rotation

Tyler Moore

Apr 30, 2018