Sensitivity to DIY Ingredients?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bundy1971

ECF Veteran
Feb 13, 2015
Cleveland, OH
I've been vaping for 3+ years and never had any physical reactions/problems with commercial e-liquid, other than the price!

I'm pretty new to DIY (2 months) and feel like I'm starting to get a "bad" reaction to my eliquid. I was fine for the first month and a half, but every night for the last 10 days or so I get a sore throat and congestion, and wake up the same way. By around noon I seem to be fine. Wash, rinse, repeat.

I use flavorings from all the common name brands: CAP, TPA, FA, FLV, INW, LA, etc., and I don't use excessive amounts in recipes (usually around 8%-12%). My nic is 100mg/ml VaporsTek, and most of my mixes are 3mg. My PG/VG is Nature's Oil from Bulk Apothecary.

I assume it's not the flavorings since they are the same the commercial guys use, which leaves the nic and PG/VG. Has anyone ever had a sensitivity or reaction they were able to track to specific ingredients? Has PG/VG from a specific brand caused anyone problems? Same for nic?

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: stols001

stols001

Moved On
ECF Veteran
May 30, 2017
It could definitely be a sensitivity to a particular type of VG/PG, I think someone stated recently that some VG is made from coconut oil and some folks don't react well to it. I guess it would also be possible that the nicotine isn't "right" for you.

It is also possible to develop a sensitivity over time.... I vaped PG when I dual used and then went back to smoking, and I can't tolerate much PG when I finally switched over to just vaping.