Smok X-Priv first time user, need help with airflow setting

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcrtorres007

Sep 6, 2018
Hello everybody, I am new member here. I am trying to learn something new about how airflow works. I have been vaping since several years and never bother using airflow till my brother explains to me how airflow works. I got some questions to ask if that's alright with everyone. I recently purchased smok X-Priv and very enjoy using it. I am not sure how exactly airflow works. I am aware that more flavor means less airflow; more cloud means more airflow. I am more of preferring flavor. How much percentage should I open airflow at? Should I put it as 25% or 50%. what wattage do you tend to put on? Mine is 60 wattage. Great feedback will be helpful for me. Many thanks.

Reactions: stols001

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I'm not sure that those questions can be answered specifically. I think what is important to ask you is what type of tank you are using? Is it a MTL (mouth to lung) or DTL (direct lung) tank?

I believe all of the SMOK tanks are sub-ohm DTL, so they are designed to have maximum air draw and maximum vapor production. They are known more for being cloud chasing tanks, not so much for flavor makers. I don't believe anyone can say you should have airflow at 25% or 50% or 100%. That is a personal preference that only you can decide upon.

The same holds true for wattage setting. The recommended wattage setting for any particular coil used is usually imprinted on the coil or in the user's manual, but that is merely a recommendation and is not written in stone. Experiment through trial and error, with different wattage settings on the mod and different airflow adjustments on the tank to see what YOU prefer.

I would guess, in general, that the lower the ohms of the coils and the higher the wattage set, the more wide open the air control should be. But that's just my guess.