Volt and APV Battery Level Display

Status
Not open for further replies.
With APV's you can change the voltage, but I see that when you check the battery level it shows voltage too. So I was wondering why is it that when you set the voltage to for example 4.2 why does the battery still work when it's below 4.2? I saw that and I thought to myself, if it's set to 4.2 volt won't that drain all that 4.2 volt left in your battery.

This is very confusing to me. I hope somebody can explain this to me and hopefully this question has not been asked before if it has my sincere apologies in advanced.

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
I'm not an Electrical Expert.

But what I have been told is that the Circuit Board in a VV or VW APV draws Voltage from the Battery, then it Steps it Up to the Desired Voltage (trading Amps for Volts), and then Sends it to your Atomizer. So you can Output More Voltage to your Atomizer than the Battery currently has.

Oh so it's like overclocking computers but instead of computers you are overclocking the battery voltage? Sounds awesome but does that harm the battery itself? I know overclocking a processor produces a lot of heat so you will need something like liquid cooling. But I don't see any cooling system build into the battery. Sounds a little bit unsafe. 8-o

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
Oh so it's like overclocking computers but instead of computers you are overclocking the battery voltage? Sounds awesome but does that harm the battery itself? I know overclocking a processor produces a lot of heat so you will need something like liquid cooling. But I don't see any cooling system build into the battery. Sounds a little bit unsafe. 8-o

It Isn't so much like Overclocking.

Think of it more like Filling Up your sink until it is Full. Then Pulling the Plug and letting the water Drain out.