Whatcha Using :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

AvaOrchid

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Sep 19, 2019
USA
So I'm new to the idea of rta but I love the idea of not having to buy or rely on the availability of commercially made coils. I would really like to get an idea of what everyone uses, how experienced they are/what advice they wish they got at first, if they're a MTL or DTL fan and also what coil specs they use or if they make it themselves. I would love to just get some generalized information and maybe even find out how people select which coil to use for which RTA :) TIA

Reactions: AngeNZ

Izan

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 1, 2012
Mallorca, Spain
My Calix v3 is always built and ready as a back up to my squonkers.
I tend to use 26 or 28 AWG SS316 and wrap simple single coils.
I use rayon as my wick.
I started MTL (in 2012..) and now use what I call relaxed MTL/restricted DTL.
I started rebuilding on a Vivinova in 2013 when replacement coils became unavailable due to Chinese new year.
I buy a roll or two of wire every 18 months or so.
I tend to vape with 70% VG between 15-24 watts using 6mg/ml freebase.

HTH
I

• Love
Reactions: AvaOrchid

AngeNZ

ShutterBug
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Contest Winner!
  • Mar 24, 2018
    New Zealand
    I'm a frankenvaper :D

I vape mtl on restricted lung hit RTAs - current faves are the Coppervape hussar project x RTA and the sjmy doggystyle 2k16 RTA.

I wick with cotton bacon prime and usually use ss316l 28ga wire. 5 or 6 wraps, 2.5mm id, around 0.5 - 0.6 ohm spaced coils. I use TC mode with them. Also sometimes use mtl ss316l fused clapton wire - 30*2/40 6 wraps 2.5mm id, 0.6 ohms :thumb:

mimöschen

Ultra Member
    ECF Veteran
    Jul 15, 2016
    As a DL-vaper I use only 2 different types of coils in various RTAs and RDAs.

Singlecoil

Juggerknot Mini, IJoy Exo, Crius 2

Tri-Core Fused Clapton
    26x3/40, 3.5mm ID, 4 wraps
    45-60 watts

Dualcoil