How to choose coil specs

Status
Not open for further replies.

AvaOrchid

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Sep 19, 2019
USA
I'm brand new to the world of RTA and I have not built one as of yet. I got some wonderful advice on a good RTA and what pre coiled coils to purchase. I'm not ready to start building my own coil yet from wire, far from it, but eventually that would be my goal. I would just like to know how everyone selects what coil they're going to use for their RTA. I mean I understand that it needs to fit but other than that I really don't know. Like with pre-made coils how do you decide which coil to put in your RTA? Other than not fitting the deck is there a way to have a wrong coil and if so what happens? Or is it just a matter of preference? If it helps the general discussion I prefer mouth to lung type of vaping but I'm really just looking for a general overview on how people choose what's going to work for their device

Tabac man

ECF Veteran
May 24, 2019
London
I can only share my own experience. I would watch some YouTube tutorials or reviews and go from there as a start point. From there I would find what I liked with some trial and error. I'm the kinda guy who rarely ends up doing what is oft suggested, but I can begin there.

Other than that I'd suggest starting with the basics. Single round wire coils and cotton, maybe Japanese pads. If you can't get the basics right, using expensive cotton and funky dooda coils won't get you there.

Izan

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 1, 2012
Mallorca, Spain