White House OMB rejects FDA's draft regs for e-cigs as too restrictive, tells agency to draft/submit a new proposal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bill Godshall

Executive Director<br/> Smokefree Pennsylvania
ECF Veteran
Apr 2, 2009
Several reliable sources in DC have confirmed that the White House Office of Management and Budget (OMB) has rejected the draft e-cig regulations FDA submitted to the agency back in October because they were too restrictive (just as I've been saying since 2011).

While there haven't been any news stories exposing this huge victory for vapers and the e-cig industry (and the White House OMB isn't likely to acknowledge this to any news reporter, as doing so would reveal a split within the Obama Administration), this would explain why the FDA deeming and other e-cig regulation still haven't been proposed (i.e. published in the Federal Register) despite past assertions that the e-cig regs would be proposed in October, then in December, and then again in January.

A news story several days ago exposed our campaign urging the White House OMB reject the FDA's e-cig regs
(including meetings with 35 different companies/organizations/groups) is at
E-cig industry on tenterhooks ahead of U.S. regulation | Reuters

I suspect it would take the FDA another several-to-six-months (and perhaps longer) to draft and submit another e-cig regulatory proposal, which buys us some very important additional time to expose the facts about e-cigs, expose and criticize the false and misleading claims by e-cig prohibitionists, and further expose and oppose the lethal (for vapers and smokers) ramifications of Chapter IX tobacco regulations if/when they are applied to e-cigs.

Don't know how many different sets of regs the FDA has drafted for e-cigs since 2011, but they've missed a half dozen dates they previously claimed the e-cig regs would be proposed (the first was in October, 2011).